(glimpses) – sister tongue

In this wide world were I could only dream of traveling, what stories have been told in words unknown and languages never heard. These sister tongues now often so estranged from each other, might still tell a common tale if only they had the time for a reunion of sorts.

Old World Languages Family tree graphics

Photo credit: Minna Sundberg

I have been squeezing in time for my first online course ” Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics.” It has been a long time since I was in college classroom and it’s still strange to think that a world of knowledge is just there, on computer screen just resting on my lap as I sit comfortably at home on our couch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOtherwise, I’m sorting through several boxes of older projects (like the carved gnome house above). I’ve loved working on them all, but realize that the time may have come to part with some to make new for new ones. I hope to have a list and new photos soon, but if you recall something you saw a while ago that you had interest in, please just let me know.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I finished some new sets of horses (currently in stock with black, auburn and golden manes), as well as  starting some painted sketches and landscapes in scraps of wood. The first is of some far away hills over a Venetian blue sky.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back to work for now but thanks so much for visiting and have a great week!

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “(glimpses) – sister tongue

    1. Oh, Carie, thank you! It’s always been something that has excited me about working in wood. The softness, suppleness and depth that happens in a carved piece that contrast those straight timbers that boards are sawn into to begin with. ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

